Minor Basilica of St. Dominic

Dominican friars began evangelization in Binalatongan (now San Carlos City) in 1587. Years later, in 1773, the current brick church was completed and was once recognized as the biggest church in the Philippines. As of 2023, the church has been standing for 250 years.

Pope Francis bestowed the title of “minor basilica” to the St. Dominic Parish Church last July 26, 2022. It was formally declared as Minor Basilica of St. Dominic at a ceremony held last January 14, 2023. The Minor Basilica of St. Dominic is now known as the first and only minor basilica in the patronage of St. Dominic in Asia, likewise becoming the fifth in the world.

Contact Information

No available contact infromation.

How to get there

More like this

Explore similar

Immaculate Conception Parish Church
St. Patrick of Ireland Parish Church
Our Lady of the Pillar Parish Church
St. Paschal Baylon Parish Church
San Nicolas de Tolentino Parish Church
St. Anthony of Padua Parish Church
St. Joseph Parish Church
St. Louis Bertrand Parish Church